Second announcement - Last reminder to submit papers
Download (txt)
All aspects of combinatorics and their relations with other parts of mathematics, physics, computer science and biology.
Conference program
Invited lectures, contributed presentations, poster session,problem session and software demonstrations. As usual there will be no parallel sessions. A special 2-day session (June 24-25) will be held in honour of Adriano Garsia's 75th birthday.
Official languages
The official languages of the conference are English and French.
Invited Speakers
Christine Bessenrodt, Universitat Hannover (Germany)
Corrado De Concini , University of Rome (Italy)
Serge Dulucq, Université de Bordeaux 1 (France)
Ronald King, University of Southampton (UK)
Renzo Pinzani, University of Florence (Italy)
Jeff Remmel, University of California, San Diego (USA)
Invited Speakers-special session
The complete list of speakers will be available later.
Call for papers and posters
Authors are invited to submit extended abstracts of at most twelve pages by November 21, 2004. To submit papers please visit the conference web site

The submitted papers should begin with a short abstract written both in English and in French (translation provided if necessary). Authors should indicate the mode of presentation which they consider appropriate for their paper, i.e. lecture or poster session. The notifications of acceptance or rejection are scheduled for February 6, 2005.

Important Note: Each submitted abstract must be prepared in accordance with AMS-Latex (see

Open problem session
Contributions to the problem session are invited in advance of the conference dates. People interested in submitting a problem in advance should submit it by e-mail to
Software demonstrations
Demonstrations of software relevant to the topics of the conference are encouraged. People interested in giving a software demonstration should submit to before January 15, 2005 a paper briefly explaining the software, and including the hardware requirements.
Graduate student papers
For the second time at FPSAC, an award will be made for the best paper submitted by a graduate student. Students submitting extended abstracts are invited to indicate their eligibility for this award.
Participant support
Limited funds are available for partial support of participants, in particular for students, junior scientists and members of groups traditionally underrepresented in the mathematical sciences.
Requests should contain a letter of recommendation and include the estimated transportation and living expenses for the duration of the conference as well as the amount of any support available from other sources. All requests should be sent by February 15, 2005 by email to
The conference will take place in Taormina, Sicily, at Hotel Atlantis Bay.
The first talk is scheduled for June 20, 2005 at 9:00 a.m.
There will be various categories of accommodation available on site in Taormina, very close to the main conference venue. More details will be available on the conference web site.
Further information
All important information concerning FPSAC'05 can be found on the conference web site at
More details will be given in future announcements.
Please direct further questions to
Registration fee before April 1, 2005: 250 Euros (students, 125 Euros)
Registration fee on or after April 1, 2005: 300 Euros (students, 150 Euros)
Summary of important dates
Submission of abstracts: November 21, 2004
Notification of acceptance: February 6, 2005
Requests for support: February 15, 2005
Reduced registration fees: April 1, 2005
Conference begins: June 20, 2005

Program Committee
Christos Athanasiadis (Greece)
Hélène Barcelo (USA)
Francois Bergeron (Canada)
Sara Billey (USA)
Francesco Brenti (Italy)
Luisa Carini (Italy), chair
Bill Chen (China)
Alain Goupil (Canada)
Takayuki Hibi (Japan)
Anatol Kirillov (Russia)
Christian Krattenthaler (France)
Alain Lascoux (France)
Svante Linusson (Sweden)
Jennifer Morse (USA)
Marc Noy (Spain)
Jorn Olsson (Denmark)
Arun Ram (USA)
Domenico Senato (Italy)
Volker Strehl (Germany)
Jean-Yves Thibon, co-chair (France)
Helge Tverberg (Norway)
Michelle Wachs (USA)
Volkmar Welker (Germany)
Mike Zabrocki (Canada)
Organizing Committee
Hélène Barcelo (USA)
Luisa Carini (Italy), chair
Vincenzo De Filippis (Italy)
Maylis Delest (France)
Jean-Marc Fédou (France)
Alain Goupil (Canada)
Enzo Maria Li Marzi (Italy)
Filippo Mignosi (Italy)
Jennifer Morse (USA)
Gaetana Restuccia (Italy)
Jean-Yves Thibon (France)